Tool Optimization in a Soil Bin

Hello Folks!
I am a graduate student at the University of Maine. The research I am currently working on is testing tool adjustments to optimize weed control using a soil bin. A soil bin is a large container filled with a soil substrate. On top of the bin is a tool carriage system where tools are mounted. The tool carriage has the ability to adjust tool angle, working depth, and speed. The soil bin located in Orono, Maine is 11.71 m (~38 feet) by 1.58 m (~5 feet) and was built inside of a heated glasshouse. I have attached a picture of the soil bin here —> 20200729_075538|375x500

Currently, I am working on the optimization of the Johnny’s Selected Seeds Tine Rake. I am comparing different tine angles, depths, and speeds to see how they effect efficacy of artificial weeds.
The artificial weeds I am using are wooden golf tees that are 35 mm (1 3/8 inch) long to measure disturbance of the tool. As we develop more methods with the soil bin, we will start testing surrogate weeds and wild type weeds. I will also compare the golf tees with other weed types to see if this is a viable way to test the disturbance of tools in an efficient way.
I plan on testing many different tools in the future and comparing them to adjustments in the field. The overall goal of this research is to provide farmers with the best tool adjustments for their conditions.

1 Like